Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada

 

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information

Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page

1. General Information

Background

The Specific Claims Tribunal is an independent tribunal established under the Specific Claims Tribunal Act (which came into force on October 16, 2008) to adjudicate First Nations’ grievances against the Crown. The Tribunal has the express mandate of deciding specific claims including claims related to the non-fulfilment of treaties, fraud, illegal leases and dispositions, and inadequate compensation for reserve lands or other assets. The purpose of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act is to resolve outstanding grievances and to encourage reconciliation between First Nations and the Crown.

The Specific Claims Tribunal Act provides for an administrative infrastructure, the Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal, to support the work of the Tribunal.

The Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal reports to Parliament through the Minster of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Responsibilities

The Specific Claims Tribunal Act provides for an administrative infrastructure in support of the work of the Specific Claims Tribunal through the Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal. The Registry is designated as a government department under Schedule I.1 of the Financial Administration Act and therefore must adhere to federal public administration policies including the preparation of this report. This report pertains to the activities of the Registry in support to the Tribunal, not to the Tribunal claims themselves.

The Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal supports all aspects of the Tribunal’s work to ensure that the Tribunal can hold hearings. The Registry is also the repository for filing claims and all documents and orders for all claims brought before the Tribunal.

Although the Registry’s offices are located in Ottawa, it provides services throughout Canada to Tribunal Members, First Nations, the Crown and the public.

Tribunal des revendications particulières Canada

 

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Info Source

Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux

Page précédente Table des matières Page suivante

1. Renseignements généraux

Historique

Le Tribunal des revendications particulières est un tribunal indépendant constitué par la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières (entrée en vigueur le 16 octobre 2008) afin de statuer sur les griefs des Premières Nations contre Sa Majesté. Le Tribunal a le mandat exprès de trancher les revendications particulières, y compris celles fondées sur la violation d’un traité, la fraude, la location ou la disposition sans droit de terres et l’absence de compensation adéquate pour des terres de réserves ou d’autres éléments d’actif. Le Tribunal des revendications particulières a pour but de statuer sur les griefs en instance et de favoriser la réconciliation entre les Premières Nations et Sa Majesté.

La Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières prévoit une structure administrative, le greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières, afin d’appuyer le Tribunal dans son travail.

Le Greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières se rapporte au Parlement par l’entremise du ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord canadien.

Responsabilités

La Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières prévoit que le Greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières doit fournir au Tribunal une structure administrative afin de l’appuyer dans son travail. Le Greffe est considéré être un ministère au titre de l’annexe I.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et il doit donc respecter les politiques de l’administration publique fédérale, y compris l’élaboration du présent rapport. Le présent rapport porte sur les activités du Greffe à l’appui du Tribunal et non sur les revendications mêmes présentées au Tribunal.

Le Greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières appuie tous les volets des activités du Tribunal pour faire en sorte que le Tribunal puisse tenir des audiences. En outre, il reçoit les revendications et tout document déposés et il conserve les ordonnances visant les revendications soumises au Tribunal.

Bien que ses bureaux soient à Ottawa, le Greffe fournit ses services dans tout le pays aux membres du Tribunal, aux Premières Nations, à la Couronne et au public.