Specific Claims Tribunal of Canada

 

Common menu bar links

Message from the Chair

March 21, 2011

Rules of Practice and Procedure

The Rules of practice and procedure that have been prepared in consultation with the Advisory Committee come within the definition of Regulations under the Statutory Instruments Act (SIA).  As such, they must conform to Federal standards that apply to all Regulations made under the authority of Federal legislation.

This means that, like all regulations that apply to Federal statutes, a process of review must be undertaken by the Statutory Instrument Branch of the Department of Justice.  The review process ensures that the Rules comply with the provisions of the enabling legislation, in this case the Specific Claims Tribunal Act.

All members of the Tribunal have been engaged in several meetings with the Federal lawyers assigned to this project. 

After the review process is completed the Rules will have a very different appearance than those developed by the Tribunal in consultation with the Advisory Committee.  I anticipate however, that there will be very little change in substance.

The Tribunal cannot commence operations until the Rules have been reviewed and the provisions of the SIA complied with and fulfilled. 

The timeline for completion of this project is determined by the statutory instrument review process and not by the Tribunal.  Additional delay may be encountered since completion of the Rules is not within our control.

 

Sincerely,

Justice Harry Slade

Chairperson, Specific Claims Tribunal

Tribunal des revendications particulières Canada

 

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Message du président

Le 21 mars 2011

Règles concernant la pratique et la procédure

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure, qui ont été élaborées en collaboration avec le comité consultatif, constituent un règlement au sens de la Loi sur les textes réglementaires (la LTR). Par conséquent, elles doivent respecter les normes fédérales qui s’appliquent à tout règlement pris en application d’une loi du Parlement.

Cela veut dire que, comme tout règlement pris en application d’une loi fédérale, les Règles doivent faire l’objet d’un processus d’examen mené par la section des textes règlementaires du ministère de la Justice. Le processus d’examen veille à ce que les Règles respectent les dispositions de la loi habilitante, à savoir la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières dans le présent cas.

Les membres du Tribunal ont participé à plusieurs réunions avec des avocats de l’administration publique fédérale assignés à cette initiative.

Après le processus d’examen, les Règles auront une apparence différente de celles élaborées par le Tribunal en collaboration avec le comité consultatif. Je prévois toutefois que le fond restera sensiblement le même.

Le Tribunal ne peut pas commencer ses activités avant que les Règles aient été examinées et que les dispositions de la LTR aient été respectées et complétées.

L’échéance pour la réalisation de cette initiative est déterminée par le processus d’examen des textes réglementaires et non par le Tribunal. Il pourrait donc y avoir d’autres retards puisque le Tribunal n’a aucun pouvoir sur l’achèvement des règles.

Je vous prie d’agréer mes salutations distinguées.

 

Le juge Harry Slade

Président, Tribunal des revendications particulières